About Time

My birthday is on Thursday, but since Mr. M has to close, he took me on my birthday date this evening. He surprised me with dinner at one of our favorite restaurants in town. More on that later.

After dinner, we popped over to the Keystone Arts Theater for a movie. If you haven’t been to a show there, you should. They tend to play movies you won’t find in the big theaters, it’s usually not super crowded, AND you can drink. I’m not kidding–there’s a bar connected to the lobby and you can take your drinks with you. Now if that’s not a winning concept, I don’t know what is. If you’re going to pay out the butt for concessions…at least make them alcoholic. Just my thought on the matter.

Anyway. We saw About Time, which was a lovely film. Most men are going to consider this a “chick flick,” and ok, yes it does have a very big romantic component. And Rachel McAdams. However, the main character is actually male. Domhnall Gleeson plays a slightly (ok very) awkward guy who just wants to find love. He also happens to be able to adjust how previous events in time occurred.

I loved the movie. It was a beautiful story about love, family, and discovering how to enjoy the little moments in life for what they are. I felt the characters were extremely relatable–Mr. M and I were squeezing each others’ hands at several points because certain moments reminded us of us.

I’m not sure how much longer this movie has in it’s run. We couldn’t find it in the regular theaters, it was only at the Arts, which surprised me. I would have thought it would have had a broader distribution than that, but maybe it’s been out longer than I thought, I’m not sure. Go see it while you can! It’s a great date movie!

Good night!

Mrs. M

Leave a comment